© Robert Deutsch-USA TODAY Sports

Osaka tops Williams in controversial U.S. Open final

Williams issued full game penalty by chair umpire Ramos in loss

September 08, 2018 - 5:41 pm

NEW YORK -- 20-year-old Naomi Osaka claimed her first grand-slam championship, defeating Serena Williams for the U.S. Open women's singles title.

Osaka's celebration, though, was tainted somewhat by a series of controversial penalty calls issued to Williams by chair umpire Carlos Ramos. He issued Williams two point penalties, and ultimately a full game penalty, that proved influential in her loss to Osaka. The first point penalty was issued on the grounds of cheating; Ramos accused Williams of gathering coaching tips from the stands, an accusation she vehemently denied. Williams later smashed her racket in frustration, which garnered the second point penalty, after the first penalty led to a game lost. In a culminating altercation, Williams called Ramos a "thief" for his previous penalty decisions. Her statements resulted in a full game penalty, which gave Osaka an additional advantage toward claiming the title. Read more here.

Comments ()